Heartwarmer du Jour

Nothing like a heartwarming, true story to start the New Year off right! I read about a homeless man who was interviewed by Stanley Roberts of KRON-TV in San Francisco, and as it turned out, he was the original drummer for the band Santana.  Roberts connected him with Carlos Santana, who plans to help his former bandmate. Marcus “the Magnificent” Malone, get back on his feet.

I read about this story first on the Christian Post, and in their article, the things they quoted Santana and Malone as saying sound like lyrics from a song yet to be written:

“You don’t know how afraid I am to let you see me,” Malone said, looking disheveled.

“You don’t know how hard I prayed to get to see you,” replied Santana.

Darn imaginary onions I wasn’t chopping!  Great. There’s something in my eye now. Hope we have more stories like this one as the year goes on.

2 Responses to Heartwarmer du Jour

  1. sf says:

    Wow, a very sweet and beautiful story. There was one time when a homeless man was digging through the trash outside of my sister’s apartment in LA several years ago and he said that he had come from Louisiana, after Hurricane Katrina had hit. I thought, wow, he came a long way! And to think that so many homeless are veterans too…so very sad. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful story of a homeless man who was able to be blessed to be reunited with his friend Santana, who had been searching for him already. I had never known about Santana’s testimony, so it was really thrilling to read about it and he sure did a great interview on CNN. Oh, and thanks for introducing me to the Christian Post news too! I always read the news online, but had never heard of this one before. Thanks!

    • rhcwilliams says:

      ‘Preciate the kind comments, SF! Isn’t it a sin how so many veterans end up without resources, out on the streets? I’d love to see an elected official running on the platform of doing right by our veterans after they serve. Oh, and I just discovered Christian Post myself. It really gives another perspective from most of the news sites you see out there. Thanks for stopping by! :) Ruth

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

