Comparisons are the worst: Part 2 on self-esteem

rhcwilliams:

Inspirational post from a great faith blog, Mustard Seed Budget. Good way to remind yourself that you are God’s unique creation.

Originally posted on Mustard Seed Budget:

Discov ering self esteem

Unperceived by parents, teachers, friends, aptitude tests, my giftings were perfect for what God designed me for. I’m posing with kids in the Guatemala Christian school, Liceo Bilingue La Puerta.

My gifting was not appreciated by anyone in high school. I wasn’t that smart, wasn’t athletic, wasn’t socially adept. What was I? I was overly sensitive. In high school being overly sensitive is not a good thing because you’re no good at the interchange of crass teasing that especially goes on among boys.

I actually thought I lacked a special trait.

Then I discovered my call: to pastor, to be a missionary. And being very sensitive (to God and to others) was a premium. But when I was a kid and took aptitude tests designed to surface giftings, nothing registered.

colegio GuatemalaComparisons are the worst because God made you absolutely unique. This uniqueness is reflected in your fingerprints, in your DNA…

View original 136 more words

One Response to Comparisons are the worst: Part 2 on self-esteem

  1. sf says:

    I had actually read this post some days ago too and had really enjoyed it also! Oh, those cute kids in their snazzy uniforms – sweet!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

