Senior Moment

I write for a lot of “senior citizens” markets, and consider myself something of a seniors’ advocate.  Just wanted to remind you to be good to the seniors in your life with a little story.

A few years ago, I developed a macular hole in my eye and needed surgery to correct it.  The recovery is actually more arduous than the surgery – you need to remain face-down for two weeks. 

The day after the surgery, I walked into the doctor’s office for my follow-up visit like an extreme version of Groucho Marx, all bent like a pretzel.  Groaning in pain, I sat down, gazed at the floor and let out a heavy sigh.

All at once, I felt five hands patting me on the back.  Everyone else in the waiting room was a senior, since the surgery I’d  had is usually performed on older patients. 

“You’ll get through it,” a lady’s voice said.  “It gets better, don’t worry,” a man said.

Then I heard what had to be the voice of an angel.  He said, “She’ll be okay.  She’s a redhead.  They’re feisty!”

Hadn’t even seen the doctor yet, and I felt better already.

4 Responses to Senior Moment

  1. sf says:

    Hahaha! Wonderful story!

    Reminds me of when the sis had told me about an elderly patient of hers who had slight dementia. She said they gotta chart how confused the patient is, so the sis put down “pleasantly confused” because the patient kept saying to her how pretty she was. So the sis said that the patient may be confused, but she sure was a pleasure to hear! xD

  2. sf says:

    Reblogged this on untitled press and commented:
    A wonderful story!

    Reminds me of when the sis had told me about an elderly patient of hers who had slight dementia. She said they gotta chart how confused the patient is, so the sis put down “pleasantly confused” because the patient kept saying to her how pretty she was. So the sis said that the patient may be confused, but she sure was a pleasure to hear! xD

    • rhcwilliams says:

      Thanks, sf! I think SF stands for Sweet Friend. You’re such a joy. I should hire you as my agent – you spread the word about my blog and new peeps stop by to share the love!

      I like that phrase your sis used: pleasantly confused. Better than facing the hard, cold reality sometimes, isn’t it? I guess we’ll all end up there someday, so maybe we’ll be good to the seniors we meet along the path of life.

      Sending you hugs, dear one! xo

      • sf says:

        Your posts are always short and sweet – the way I’d love to write! But unfortunately, brevity is a problem of mine. I not only get tongue-tied, but always going off-subject and takin’ so long to make a point.
        I always love to stop by your blog and go through your archives. They’re just full of good reads to share!

Leave a Reply

