You Have Learned Well, Grasshopper

Growing up, my brothers and I would often mumble, prompting my mother to issue an edict:  “Enunciate!”  As a former English teacher, she would often throw Latin phrases at us.  “Gallia est divisa en partes tres!” she’d bark at us.  “If you know Latin, you know English.”  All we really wanted to do was go to Chuck E. Cheese’s!

After my son was born, I found that I’d picked up some of my mom’s phrases and habits.  I started to wonder if some of her outrageous theories based on numerology and Nostradamus had any merit (jury is still out on both).  And then a few weeks ago, my son muttered a response when I asked what he wanted for dinner.  Uh-oh.  I feel it churning… it’s about to blow!

“Enunciate!”  I said.  He looked at me quizzically.  “Speak clearly, honey.  Say it as if you’ve got something to say.”  Eye roll at two o’clock.

Later that day, I wandered into my son’s room to put away some clothes and I said under my breath, “wonder if these socks still fit?” and my son jabbed a finger into the air and said, “Enunciate!”

The one time he was actually listening to me.  Hoist on my own petard!

3 Responses to You Have Learned Well, Grasshopper

  1. SueBE says:

    Oh, oh, oh! I hate the mumbles. I don’t remember my mom getting on us for it. We were competing far too hard to be HEARD! Poor Mom.

    –SueBE

    • rhcwilliams says:

      I know what you mean, SueBE! Then there’s the other end of the spectrum – those friends of my son who have no volume control when they speak. There’s also one sweet, lovable boy who doesn’t understand personal space. Stands two inches from your nose and speaks in a near-shout! We’ll straighten him out yet. Didn’t realize when we became moms we’d actually end up being EVERYBODY’S mom!!

      • SueBE says:

        I had so forgotten the volume control problem. One of my son’s friends has this issue. “Inside voice!” He’s actually loud enough that hit annoys the kids. “Quit shouting at me! I can hear you just fine.” So, we do have some parenting help.
        –SueBE

Leave a Reply

