Shady Day Room

My sunroom is a serene place to write, and often, as I lean my head back in thought, I’ll look up at the skylight and see a squirrel looking in at me.  This morning I saw footprints in the frost and knew I’d had company.  There’s also a dirt outline of a leaf that’s been intriguing me.  It’s perfectly shaped, like a little nature tattoo.  But is it art?

This sunroom was intended to be a place to read, knit, sip tea, and write novels.  As it turns out, it is all of that and more.  The only thing it isn’t, is an actual SUNroom. 

You see, just as we were building this sunroom, the lot behind us, once a little forest, was bought and workers prepared the foundation for a house.  As it went up… and up… and up, we noticed that it was three times the size of my modest little ranch.

After it was built, I faithfully lugged my laptop, notebooks and prayer chain (extra creativity, if You please) into the alleged sunroom, sat in my comfy chair and noticed something was off.

You see, now that the ginormous house behind us was finished, it completely…. blocked… the sun.  So it is now a shady day room.  But I can’t complain, it’s still an oasis for me.  Just kinda wish I could at least get one ray of sunshine in there once in awhile!

Leave a Reply

