Attitude of Gratitude

Desserts by Velocity Girl - Christina Børding
Desserts, a photo by Velocity Girl – Christina Børding on Flickr.

When my son was three or four, he started to use the phrase, “May I have my dessert now, please?”

“My” dessert. Not, “Are we having dessert?” He just assumed that at the end of every dinner, a dessert would surely follow.

Only as he got older did he realize that dessert wasn’t a birthright. That things cost money, food takes time and effort to prepare, and that if you’ve got the luxury of a home, three square meals and dessert, you’re truly blessed indeed.

6 Responses to Attitude of Gratitude

  1. suebe says:

    Your son and my grandmother would have gotten on just fine. The rest of us would have been in trouble because she would have taught him to go look if no dessert was forthcoming. No money? No time? Fine. Get out the saltines and the jam, but next time I expect something better. I’VE been through The Depression, after all.
    –SueBE

    • rhcwilliams says:

      I’m a dessert fan myself, SueBE, but sometimes a big meal leaves no room for it. Not according to my son, of course. He thinks there’s always room for a little something sweet!

  2. Debbie says:

    My Mom was a Home Ec teacher and LOVED to cook! We had desert with every lunch and every dinner. Probably goes a ways toward explaining my dietary habits! I don’t think a meal is truly over until there’s something sweet. If no desert is forthcoming, I just start in on the next meal. 😉

  3. Do you have a Facebook page or Twitter? Would love to follow you there, I’m on my iPhone and love reading your stuff!

    • rhcwilliams says:

      Hi Gabriella,

      I was on FB for awhile but didn’t stay on. Haven’t set up a Twitter account yet, although I may at some point. Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Peace & Blessings,

      Ruth

Leave a Reply

