The More You Know: Apostrophe Abuse

And the fight continue's...

Apostrophe Advocate Group’s Fight for Grammar Right’s:  End Abuse’s of Grammar in All it’s Form’s.

This is a public service message from an Anonymous Apostrophe to all of the Facebook and HuffPo users guilty of excessive and incorrect use of this overworked and misunderstood part of speech:

You’ve been misusing me for so long, I’m planning my revenge.  I’m just going to leave the language altogether!

Is this what you really want, you people?  Stop abusing me, or I’ll go away!  Maybe even Ill go away.  Howd you like them apples?

4 Responses to The More You Know: Apostrophe Abuse

  1. notquiteold says:

    The most irritating of irritant’s. But a blog can have it’s issues. God, it hurt’s me just to write that.

    • rhcwilliams says:

      Too true! Im usually forgiving of these rule’s…. ah, you’re right. It is hard to type like that! I know the rules are more lax these days, but where did that apostrophe-for-plurals thing come from? Plural’s, that is. Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  2. squelsch says:

    Hi, my name is Quinn, and I’m a former apostrophe abuser.

    • rhcwilliams says:

      Hi, Quinn! The first step is admitting you’ve got a problem. I can see that you’re on the road to recovery – your apostrophe use seems quite judicious! You’ll be an example to “other’s” with this Dread Dis’ease. Thanks for commenting! Take care.

Leave a Reply

