New Jersey Giants

Visiting Australia many years ago, locals would ask me where I was from. “New Jersey,” I’d say, and more often than not, they’d reply, “Oh, the capital of New York?” It was frustrating at the time, but after a while, I got used to it.

New Jersey and New York are so closely linked, we’ve actually become a region. Today, for example, many of my neighbors are wearing blue and white in honor of the Giants going to the Superbowl. They’re a New York team, of course, but we’ve always called them the New Jersey Giants. They train here, they play here, and most of the players are from Jersey, as Governor Christie said the other day.

There’s also the Statue of Liberty. This symbol of American freedom “belongs” to New York but is actually situated in New Jersey.

So I’ve gotten used to people assuming I’m from New York, even though I’m a lifelong resident of the Garden State. At least for today, you can call us New Yersey.

Leave a Reply

