Grace

Being a person of faith is a tough gig in a world such as this one.

Church leaders turn a blind eye to abuses.
Shepherds fleece their flocks.
Bigotry and back-biting run rampant.

But there are still so many good people doing the right thing.

Some of them are atheists, some are Muslims, some are gay.
All trying to raise their kids, do their jobs, pay the bills.

My minister isn’t an old man with vestments and a scepter.
It’s that little boy who defended his albino brother from bullies.

It’s the painfully old lady carefully pulling her ancient sedan
into two parking spaces at the grocery store.
Waiting in the car in the sweltering summer heat
sits an even older lady with sunglasses covering her whole tiny face.

It’s me, carrying my dog out into the yard for one last try,
even though she’s on palliative care and her literal last legs.
It’s me again, alone at the vet’s office, signing papers
to take away my own best friend.

There for each other.
There when nobody’s watching.
There but for the grace of God.

2 Responses to Grace

  1. Carol L. Gonzalez says:

    Just wanted to extend my condolences on the loss of your dog (you don’t mention if this was something recent). Since my husband and I moved into our house in 1978 we have been through that process with several cats and two dogs-I know how difficult the decision can be, yet we know we are doing the kindest thing for our animals in not allowing them to suffer anymore.

    • rhcwilliams says:

      Thanks so much for your kind thoughts, Carol… it was actually last year and I wanted to put up a post to remember our Sheena, but I know my son subscribes to my blog and I didn’t want to upset him, so I couched it in a poem (since he never reads my poems when I post them.) 🙂 Blessings to you for your gift of empathy. Take care, Ruth

Leave a Reply

