Jersey Sandy Update

Sky looks clear but wind has knocked a ton of leaves off of the trees.

It’s really windy outdoors now at about 3 PM EST. Also very chilly. Just starting to mist now. Went to get gas and the wind was moving my car; I really had to grip the wheel to correct it.

At the intersection of Route 27 and Franklin Boulevard in Somerset, there’s a light down. I don’t mean a traffic light that isn’t operational; I mean it’s shattered on the ground, pole and all. Take another route if you have to travel that way.

Gas stations have long lines, but be picky: you can get gas for $3.50/gallon in this area. Couple of stations are trying to gouge, charging $4.50/per and up.

We got word that schools and government offices in central Jersey will be closed tomorrow, probably Tuesday.

Will keep you posted!

7 Responses to Jersey Sandy Update

  1. Debbie says:

    Thanks for the up date. Do you have a generator?
    Stay safe and stay in touch when you can!

  2. rhcwilliams says:

    Hey Deb! I don’t have a generator but I sure wish I did. Will keep you posted, dear heart!

  3. Mary Boscaino says:

    Hope you’re doing okay. Stay safe – and dry, hopefully!

    • rhcwilliams says:

      Thanks, Mary – we got hit pretty hard by Sandy. Just coming up for air now in fact. My son was lost without his internet connection, but I just missed the heat! ‘Preciate your kind thoughts, dear heart!

  4. Debbie says:

    Dan and Elissa lost their power a couple of hours ago, so I’m expecting you’re in the dark now, too. You’re close in my heart.
    I’ll keep praying.

    • rhcwilliams says:

      Hey there, Deb!
      You’re so right – we got hit around the same time and whoosh! Life stopped. We were in the dark and it was friggin cold, as we say in Jersey. Good thing I’m fond of peanut butter! I’ve got to plow through a ton of emails now but wanted to thank you cuz I know you were holding me up in prayer. That’s probably what held me together! I know you’re a power-prayer.

      Love ya,

      Ruth

  5. Debbie says:

    Oh friend!
    I’m glad for this update!
    You’ve been so much on my heart and in my prayers! (no need to respond to this – catch up on your emails!)
    Just really happy to know that you’re OK!

Leave a Reply

