Constructive Criticism? Is that Really a Thing?

July 12, 2011 008

Do any of you other writers out there have this problem?  I’ve had to give up gigs in which I had to critique other writers’ work – including one of my faves, writing movie reviews for Festival of Films.  I fudged it well enough with this post about Les Miserables and this one reviewing Cloud Atlas, but I just couldn’t bring myself to tear down another writer’s work.

Is there such a thing as “constructive criticism” – one writer to another?

4 Responses to Constructive Criticism? Is that Really a Thing?

  1. I don’t write, but as an avid reader, I guess to be constructive is to rather like the best of teachers we had as children ..

    • rhcwilliams says:

      I think that’s the key, Leaf Whisperer (I’m from Jersey, so I have to give everyone a nickname! Hope you don’t mind!) and maybe it is possible to – tactfully – offer suggestions that might improve another writer’s work. I still remember the pain of receiving the dreaded Rejection Letter from agents in the form of a postcard that simply said “not for us.” Brutal! Thanks for checking in. Take care, Ruth

  2. sf says:

    I know that for myself, I don’t accept criticisms (of any kind) too well, which I sure need to work on.

    • rhcwilliams says:

      I hear ya, sf… nobody likes to hear somebody offering their two cents – especially if we didn’t ask for an opinion! Family members are the biggest offenders in this area, I find. 🙂 Take care, Ruth

Leave a Reply

