Eternitywards

On this snowy-blizzard day here in New Jersey when everyone has their cranky pants on already, I was so glad to find this post. It lifted me up and started my day on the right foot.

zippythinks

In his epic poem about life called Landslides, Canadian poet, Don Coles writes:

            Sometimes I’ll rant, or grieve,

            But rather now would sidestep

            Eternitywards and glimpse a sort of

comfort there, out under the stars

I have always liked this particular stanza.  It seems to me to be a very raw description of life, an admission of the times where we choose to be negative, to rant and to grieve.  It reminds me that when we do these things what we really need is to sidestep eternitywards.  It reminds me that there is comfort in those times when we are willing to step aside and look up.

Like most people, my life can get stressful.  This last week felt particularly stressful to me.  I was challenged with new ways of doing things at work, I had a challenging meeting with a young lady we are mentoring…

View original post 334 more words

3 Responses to Eternitywards

  1. Started your day. Ending mine. Wise words. And the word(s) for me tomorrow are “side step and look up.” Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

