Off the Hook

Tell everyone you know: “My happiness depends on me, so you’re off the hook.” And then demonstrate it. Be happy, no matter what they’re doing. Practice feeling good, no matter what. And before you know it, you will not give anyone else responsibility for the way you feel — and then, you’ll love them all. Because the only reason you don’t love them, is because you’re using them as your excuse to not feel good.

Esther Hicks, Teaching of Abraham

10 Responses to Off the Hook

  1. calensariel says:

    I know that’s true, but how on earth does one do that consistently? When I try to get my mind around the truth of it, my brain comes to a sudden stop and I fall off!

    • rhcwilliams says:

      I hear ya, Lady Calen! It’s something I’ve been trying to be aware of as thoughts pop into my head. If I find myself saying, “that person always…” or “why doesn’t he ever….” I realize I”m making it about what they do. It’s not always that clear-cut, though!

  2. in567 says:

    Aw, crumb. I can’t blame other peepo now?! Rats.

    Otay, otay, I fully agree widcha. Wise, wise words, my friend. Thank you.

    • rhcwilliams says:

      Well, maybe we can blame them during a leap year only… or maybe during months that have 31 days! Like August! ๐Ÿ™‚ Best thing about letting people off the hook is that we also give ourselves back the power to feel good and live well. Win/win!

  3. in567 says:

    Reblogged this on and commented:
    Awesome advice by Ruth from Jerseyville.

  4. Nnenna Obi says:

    there is so much wisdom is your quotes. i love them.

    • rhcwilliams says:

      Thank you, Nnenna! So kind of you to say. I’d like to claim credit for them, but they’re quotes from wise gurus out there in the universe! ๐Ÿ™‚ Blessing to you, Ruth

Leave a Reply

